Lao PDR
Diagnostic Trade Integration Study (DTIS) 2004
DTIS update 2012
WTO accession 2013

With EIF support, Lao PDR developed a Trade and Private Sector Development Roadmap, which has served as the main instrument for their Aid for Trade harmonization, resource mobilization and coordination efforts. Within the EIF implementation framework, the country has successfully leveraged trade‑related priorities, including a total of 16 projects totalling US$68 million.

EIF-supported analytical work has been used to enhance Lao PDR’s export diversification into sectors with high social impacts, in order to ensure that trade improves the livelihoods of the poor. As a result, donors have been supporting Lao PDR’s trade goals through a multi-donor trust fund.

MOU 25/02/10
Budget 1'446'260
End date 31/03/16

EIF worked to enhance Lao PDR’s national capacity to formulate, implement, manage and monitor a pro-poor trade policy that is consistent with the country’s National Socio‐Economic Development Plan (NSEDP).

Results:

  • Following the country's EIF-supported trade analysis, four major projects were formulated to support implementation of the Trade and Private Sector Development Roadmap:
  1. US$16.5 Million Trade Development Facility - Multi-Donor Trust Fund co-financed by Australia, EU, Germany, Ireland, USA, and World Bank;
  2. US$20 Million SME Access to Finance Project supported by the World Bank;
  3. €6.5 Million German funded Project to support regional integration under ASEAN and Entrepreneurship Development; and
  4. US$9 Million US Aid funded project to support implementation of commitments under WTO, Laos-US Bilateral Agreement and institutional capacity building and other small TA from various international development institutions, including some regional programmes.
  • Key regulatory deficiencies in key service sectors, including telecommunications, insurance, and professional services, were identified and addressed.
  • Services and Investment portal established.
  • SMEs assisted to access long-term bank financing through a line of credit facility and enhancing SME financial literacy.
  • Capacity building provided for local SMEs through implementation of matching grant scheme, including tourism, IT, general manufacturing, handicrafts and the garment industry.
  • Improved competitiveness of tourism, handicraft, and agribusiness sectors in Northern and Southern parts of the country using value chain analysis. 
  • 45 participants, including NIU technicians, participated in a workshop on investment climate assessment presented by the World Bank in 2014.
  • 53 people participated in a 4-day NIU fiduciary workshop in July 2015 to enhance understanding of basic principles of financial and procurement management regulations.
MOU 09/12/13
Budget 2'520'350
End date 30/06/18

The National Quality Infrastructure component assists Lao PDR in building its national standardization system, developing a national metrology system to ensure the uniformity and traceability of measurements, building technical infrastructure for accreditation; achieving mutual recognition of accreditation and certification results, and creating private sector awareness of the importance and benefits of implementing international quality standards.

Results:

National Quality Infrastructure

  • Department of Standardization and Metrology (DSM) was upgraded from subscriber member to correspondence member in the ISO membership in early 2017.
  • 106 standards have been adopted/approved.
  • Training has been provided on Legislation and Document Control including in the Textile Testing on Lab observation at Bureau of Accreditation of Vietnam for three DSM staff and on how to utilize some lab equipment for eight lab staff and two NIU officials. Inspections of food contaminated residue have also been conducted in a meeting with the Department of Planning and Cooperation (DPC), Ubon University, Government Pharmaceutical Organization, Thailand Institute of Science and Technology, Thailand, in June 2017.
  • 50 people from line ministries, government agencies, industry and the DSM participated in a training course in Vientiane in October 2015 focusing on the international requirements for standardization and the role of the National Standards Council in the development of standards.
  • 48 participants in Xiengkhounag province attended a training on internal audit to ensure that the labs are conformant to international standards.
  • 25 people who would be assigned by the DSM as Assessors of Accreditation participated in the following courses: Internal Calibration Course (2 days), Uncertainty Calibration Course (2 days), Lead Assessor Course (5 days).
  • 169 participants learned the role and importance of standardization and metrology during three workshops in Saysomboun province, Sekong province and Xiengkhouang province in 2015.
  • A one-day workshop for SMEs was held in Vientiane in May 2015. The workshop covered the quality management system and how it helps SMEs to generate more revenue, implement quality activities, and improve product safety.

Industrial Statistics

  • All the equipment for the Vientiane and provincial statistical offices of the Department of Industry and Handicrafts (DoIH) were procured. This will support the capacity building of the country in hardware for industrial statistics.
  • Training was provided to provincial statisticians both in May 2015 on input data system design with tabulation with MS for DoIH statisticians.
  • 40 participants (DoIH teams and provincial statisticians) participated in a two-day training in June 2015 covering basic statistics, industrial statistics, and industrial index field enumeration, data collection and data input.
  • Lao PDR Diagnostic Trade Integration Study: Building Export Competitiveness in Laos (2006)

    English
  • Lao PDR Post-National Validation Workshop Aide-Mémoire (2005)

    English
  • Lao PDR Aide-Mémoire Main Mission (2005)

    English
  • Lao PDR DTIS Action Matrix (2006)

    English
  • Building Export Competitiveness in Laos: Summary Report (2006)

    English
  • Building Export Competitiveness in Laos: Background Report (2006)

    English
  • Lao Trade Magazine (January 2011)

    English
  • Lao PDR DTIS Update: Trade and Private Sector Development Roadmap (2012)

    English
  • Country Profile: Lao PDR (2011)

    English French Portugese
  • Trading Stories (2013)

    English
  • Lao PDR Trading Stories (2013)

    English
  • Lao PDR Annual Progress Report (2013)

    English

Sonevilay Pheangthavanh
Trade Officer National Implementation Unit Department of Planning and Cooperation Ministry of Industry and Commerce Vientiane
Sonevilay.ph@laomoic.org

Viengxay Praphasiri
M&E Officer National Implementation Unit Department of Planning and Cooperation Ministry of Industry and Commerce Vientiane
Viengxay.p@laosaft.org

Phouvieng PHONGSA
Deputy Director Department of Planning and Cooperation, and EIF Focal Point Ministry of Industry and Commerce
phouvieng.p@laomoic.org

Sodavanh Souvannaphoum
sodavanh.s@laomoic.org

Bryan Fornari
Donor Facilitator, Delegation of the European Union to Lao PDR
Delegation-laos@eeas.europa.eu

Kavin Saiyavong
Deputy Director Division Ministry of Industry and Commerce, Department of Planning and Cooperation, Development Planning Division
kavin.s@laomoic.org

Kalakate Xaythanith
Programme Officer Trade & Economics - Delegation of the European Union to Lao PDR
Kalakate.XAYTHANITH@eeas.europa.eu

Franck Caussin
International Project Coordinator - UN Trade Cluster Project
FrankC@unops.org

Amphaphone Thongsawath
Procurement Officer Ministry of Industry and Commerce
amphaphone.t@laosaft.org

Lattanaphone Vongsouthi
Deputy Director of Foreign Aid Division - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
lattanaphone.v@laomoic.org

Somsanith Ninthavong
International Project Operations Advisor - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
somsanith.n@laosaft.org

Pinphakone Xayavong
Trade Analyst - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
pinphakone.x@laosaft.org

Lienthong Souphany
Director of Division Planning Department - Ministry of Planning and Investment
lsouphany@yahoo.com

Phetlamngeun Phommachanh
National Financial Specialist - Department of Planning and Cooperation - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
phetlamngeun.p@laosaft.org

Matthew B. Younger
Political-Economic Officer, Commercial Officer - Embassy of the United States of America
YoungerMB@state.gov

Silavanh Vongphosy
Programme Specialist in Poverty Reduction and Development Effectiveness/ Acting Head of Poverty Reduction Unit - UNDP
silavong.vongphosy@undp.org

Nick Maddock
Senior Technical Adviser Ministry of Planning & Investment - Department of Planning - UNDP
nicholas.maddock@undp.org

Latsany Phakdisoth
Programme analyst Poverty Reduction Unit - UNDP
latsany.phakdisoth@undp.org

Suripaphone Meys
Trade Analyst - ministry of Industry and Commerce
suripaphone.m@laosaft.org

Sengphanomchone Inthasane
Director of Foreign Aid Division - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
sengphanomchone.i@laomoic.org

Franck Caussin
International Project Coordinator - Department of Trade Promotion and Product Development - UNOPS
franck_caussin@hotmail.com

Sengxay Phousinghoa
PSD Advisor Ministry of Industry and Commerce
sengxay.p@laosaft.org

Sirisamphanh Vorachiti
Director General Ministry of Industry and Commerce
sirisamphanh.v@laomoic.org

Stefan Lock
Head of Cooperation Delegation of the European Union to Laos
Stefan.LOCK@ec.europa.eu

Konesawang Nghardsaysone
Trade Analyst - The World Bank
knghardsaysone@worldbank.org

Keiko Miwa
Country Manager - The World Bank
kmiwa@worldbank.org

Sitha Phouyavong
Director General Department of Intellectual Property Department - Ministry of Science and Technology
sitha@most.gov.la

Viengthong Vongthavilay
Deputy Director General Department of Standardization and Metrology - Ministry of Science and Technology
Vongthavilay@yahoo.com

Khamphone Keodalavong
Director of Industrial Environment and Chemistry Division - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
kkdalavong@yahoo.com

Sisomphet Nhoybouakong
Director General Department Standardization & Metrology - Ministry of Science and Technology
nsisomphet@most.gov.la

Somvang Ninthavong
Director General Trade and Product Promotion Department - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
somvang.n@laomoic.org

Somchith Inthamith
Vice Minister of Planning and Investment
somchith57@yahoo.com

Malaithong Kommasith
Director General Department of Planning and Cooperation - Ministry of Science and Technology
mkommasith@gmail.com

Saysana Sayakone
Deputy director General Foreign Trade Policy Department - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
saysana.s@laomoic.org

Khankeo Moonvong
Programme Officer Delegation of the European Union to Laos
Khankeo.MOONVONG@eeas.europa.eu

Manohack Rasachack
Director General Department of Industry and Handicrafts - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
hackrasa@yahoo.com

Viengphone Viravong
Deputy Director General Department of Industry and Handicrafts - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
viengphone2010@hotmail.com

Thongdam Khounoudom
Director Products Standard Division - Department of Industry & Handicraft - Ministry of Industry & Commerce
thongdamk@hotmail.com

Souksavath Sihapanya
Director of Quality Management Center - Department of Standardization and Metrology - Ministry of Science and Technology
souksavath70@yahoo.com

Richard Record
Trade Specialist - The World Bank
rrecord@worldbank.org

Somphong Soulivanh
Deputy Director General Department of Industry and Handicrafts - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
somsoulivanh@yahoo.com

Phonevanh Outhavong
Deputy Director General - NSEDP Project Manager - Ministry of Planning and Investment Planning Department
phonevanh@yahoo.com

Arounviseth Sayaseng
Investment Promotion Advisor - Sustainable Economic Development - GIZ
arounviseth.sayaseng@giz.de

Sommai Faming
Head of UNIDO Operations, Lao PDR
S.Faming@unido.org

Armin Hofmann
Programme Director - Sustainable Economic Development
armin.hofmann@giz.de

Petra Polgar
Project Manager - Supporting Laos' Integration into Regional Markets
petra.polgar@giz.de

One-Sy Boutsivongsakd
Adviser of Lao National chamber of Commerce and Industry
onesyb09@gmail.com

Khankeo Moonvong
Programme Officer - Delegation of the European Union to Laos
Khankeo.MOONVONG@ec.europa.eu

Michel Goffin
Charge d'Affairess - Delegation of the European Union to Laos
Michel.GOFFIN@eeas.europa.eu

Sengnimith Chounlamanay
General Manager - Poysian Bulgogee Restaurant
poysianvientiane@gmail.com